These 3 Players Could Win Ballon D’OR 2018

ballon d'OR 2018 winner, ballon d'OR 2018 rankings

FIFA World Cup 2018 was way more marvelous then expected and ended with France as the World Champions. But the world cup gave us many turnovers and one of them included the probable Ballon d’Or Winner of this year.

For years, no for more than a decade, the most prestigious individual award in the football world has been the monopoly of only two football players.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have ruled the football world with 5 Ballon D’ors each in the last 10 years but this could be the year when their reign may come to an end.

Luka Modric is the new sensation and the fan favorite to win the prestigious Ballon d’OR which currently is being holded by Cristiano Ronaldo. Modric’s sensational run as Croatian captian the world cup 2018 to the finals has given him a spot amongst the greats.

Apart from the epic run in World Cup, Modric’s performances has been consistent and match winning throughout the year with his club Real Madrid. Madrid star mid-fielder is being called the best midfielder in the world right now.

Apart from Luka Modric, other names have popped up (mostly French) and have now made the road to the Ballon d’OR more tough. Names like Antoine Griezmann, Kylian Mbappe and Raphael Varane.

Related: Ballon d’OR 2018 Winner ?

There are many other big names from Premier League and Bundesliga nominated for the Ballon d’OR 2018 which you can see on the list down below.

This year will be the 63rd edition of the Ballon d’OR awards and the event will be held on December 3 2018 in Paris.

Former Frence and Tottenham legend David Ginola will be hosting the ceremony.

Ballon d’Or shortlist

Sergio Aguero (Man City)

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)

Alisson Becker (Liverpool)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Edinson Cavani (PSG)

Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)

Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)

Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid)

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Isco (Real Madrid)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)

N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)

Mario Mandzukic (Juventus)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

Marcelo (Real Madrid)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Neymar (PSG)

Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)

Paul Pogba (Manchester United)

Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona)

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Luis Suarez (Barcelona)

Raphael Varane (Real Madrid)

How to Watch Ballon d’OR 2018?

As of now no official broadcasters for Ballon d’OR have been confirmed but Standard Sports will bring the live coverage of the event on the night in the UK.

Also, the Ballon d’OR 2018 can be seen on FIFA’s official streaming services. FIFA’s You Tube channel, Facebook and Twitter accounts will stream the live ceremony.

Related: Top 5 Leo Messi Unforgettable Goals

Who are Ballon d’OR 2018 Favorites?

Currently, the star Croatian and Real Madrid mid-fielder Luka Modric is running ahead in the race of favorites to win the prize closely followed by Cristiano Ronaldo. Modric has alrady won the FIFA Best Player of the year prize in September.

After them, the French trio of Griezmann, Mbappe and Varane are up on the list. Mohammed Salah and Eden Hazard are the top contenders from the Premier League.

Most Ballon d’OR winners?

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo both are unarguably the greatest players of our generation and one can argue that they are the greatest of all times and their records are enough to brag for it.

These two have won every single Ballon d’OR in the last 10 years. Both have 5 awards to their name and both have same number of runner-ups finishes. Although, Messi has one third place finish to his name.

Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff and Marco van Basten have all won the prize 3 times whereas Kevin Keegan is the only English player to have won the prize two times conclusivley in 1978 and 1979.

Also, Barcelona FC is the club with the maximum number of Ballon d’OR which is 11. Real Madrid comes second with 10 while Juventus and AC Milan players have won the award 8 times.

Wrappin Up:

Ballon d’OR 2018 ceremony will be organized on 3rd December 2018 and we wrap this article with an important information for you guys. We will be bringing you updates from the Ballon d’OR 2018 straight from Paris so stay with us to know this year’s Best footballer of the year.

Also, we post articles related to football leagues – EPL, La Liga, Serie A, Bundesliga and from many other sports. Keep visiting us and follow us on our social media platforms to get the updates on the latest sports trends before anywhere else.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *