Caribbean Premier League 2018: Steve Smith Will Play For Barbados Tridents In CPL 2018

Caribbean Premier League 2018

After the latest schedule for the upcoming edition of the CPL has been released, we are hit by another major update from Caribbean Premier League 2018. The news about the participation of the suspended Australian Captain Steven Smith in the upcoming Caribbean Premier League 2018 for Barbados Tridents took the internet through storm.

Smith who is currently suspended from the international cricket and Australian Domestic Cricket for 12 months by Cricket Australia along with Australian opener David Warner and Cameroon Bancroft following their involvement in the ball tempering scandal in March at their South African tour.

Due to his suspension, Smith couldn’t join his team Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2018. Although, he did appeared for Toronto Nationals in the Brand new Global T20 Canada league’s inaugural edition where he impressed everybody after his absence from cricket world for 3 months.

Check Out: Caribbean Premier League 2018 Schedule, Fixtures and Squads

Barbados Tridents picked Steve Smith earlier in the second round of auctions. Martin Guptil from New Zealand and Hashim Amla will also be a part of Tridents squad for CPL 2018. Jason Holder from West Indies will be the skipper of Barbados Tridents.

Steven Smith actually came as a replacement for Bangladeshi All-Rounder Shakib-Al-Hasan in Barbados Tridents.

The Caribbean Premier League 2018 is scheduled to start on 8 August and will end on September 16.

David Warner, the other suspended player along with Smith will also feature in CPL 2018 for St. Lucia Stars. He came as a replacement for D’Arcy Short as he will be playing for Australia A next month in a quadrangular series against India.

Brad Hodge will be the Head coach of Barbados Tridents for CPL 2018.

Steven Smith and David Warner both these Australian aces will face each other on 17 August and 2 September.

Despite from his absence from International Cricket for more than 5 months, Smith has still maintained his number one ranking in the Test cricket. ICC released their new updated Test cricket rankings after the recently concluded Sri Lanka-South Africa series where Smith is still the no. 1 Test Batsmen with 929 points.

Following him at the 2nd spot is Indian Skipper Virat Kohli with 903 points and England’s Joe Root is at 3rd spot with 855 points.

Smith’s comeback at the Global T20 Canada was impressive. He smashed 167 runs with two fifties in the six games he played.

Also Read: Caribbean Premier League All Time Winners List

Warner who also played for Winnipeg Hawks in Global T20 Canada couldn’t do much there. Although, he later played in the NT Strike League for City Cyclones, where he found his form and smashed 93 against Desert Blaze and led his team to the finals.

Although, Cameroon Bancroft, the third suspended player isn’t so lucky. He was indulged in a accident where he struck the top-edged a ball into his throat, causing a cartilage tear to his trachea so he was hospitalized.

Smith and Warner will not be featuring in this year’s edition of the Big Bash League but after CPL 2018 they will return to play grade cricket in Sydney. Smith will play for Sutherland and Warner will play for Randwick-Petersham.

Although, following their ban, they can not play international cricket and in other Australian tournaments but they could feature in more domestic Short format cricket tournaments like T10 league in Dubai in December. They could also feature in Bangladesh Premier League and Pakistan Premier League in January and February, respectively.

Check out all the updates from the upcoming Caribbean Premier League 2018 with us- the Best Sports Website in India.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *