Cricket World Cup Winners- ICC Cricket World Cup All Time Winners List

ICC World Cup 2019 Live Coverage and Streaming, ICC World Cup 2019 winner predicition

All cricket fans and enthusiasts are in for the treat next year of 2019 as the biggest carnival in the cricket world – the ICC World Cup will be played in 2019 after the 12th edition of the Indian Premier League.

The ICC World Cup 2019 schedule has been out for quite some time now and the 2019 edition of the World Cup is scheduled to begin on 30 May and the glorious tournament will go on for 46 days and will end on 14 July.

Related: ICC World Cup 2019 complete schedule, fixtures, venues and updates

What is ICC Cricket World Cup?

ICC Cricket World Cup is the biggest event to be held in the game of cricket. It is scheduled to take place every 4 years and the best ranking cricket teams in the world participate in it to identify which team is the best in the world.

Cricket world cup is played in the limited overs ODI format and it is also the grandest limited-overs event and also one of the most watched sporting events in the world.

When did the ICC World Cup Started?

Although the cricket has been around for like 150 years the world cup started in 1975. The first world cup was played in England as a series of ODI with 60 overs to be played by each team.

West Indies defeated Australia to become the world champions in the first world cup. The first 3 world cups were held in England. In 1987, the first world cup was held outside England in India and Pakistan.

Also, the 50 overs format was introduced the first time in world cup 1987.

Who has won the most World Cups?

Although England is the father of this game of gentlemen, they have never ever won a world cup.

Australia is the most successful and dominant side when it comes to World Cups. Out of the 11 World Cups so far, they have won the most number of times which is 5. They are also the only side to have won the world cup three consecutive times – 1999, 2003 and 2007. They were also the runner-ups 2 times.

Apart from Australia, India and the West Indies has won the World Cup on two different occasions.

While Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won the World Cup on one occasion.

Fact: India is the only team to have won the world cup finals in their own country in 2011

ICC World Cup All Times Winners list

Year Winner Score Runner-up Score Result
1975 West Indies 291–8 Australia 274 West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 West Indies 286–9 England 194 West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 India 183 West Indies 140 India won by 43 runs
1987 Australia 253–5 England 246–8 Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Pakistan 249–6 England 227 Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132 Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 Australia 359–2 India 234 Australia won by 125 runs
2007 Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8 Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6 India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183 Australia won by 7 wickets

Wrapping Up

Before ICC World Cup 2019, IPL 2019 will be played and you can check out IPL 2019 schedule, fixtures, venues and winner prediction here. We are a team of sports enthusiasts and we love our job. That’s why we’ll be bringing you all the latest updates from the ICC Cricket world cup.

Keep visiting and following us for the latest updates of the cricket world.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.