Copa America Winners- Copa America Winners List from 1916 to 2019

Copa America Winners- List of Copa America Winners

Copa America is an international football tournament which was previously known as “South American Football Championship”. CONMEBOL. Men’s national football teams participate in the Copa America competition.

The very first edition of Copa America Championship was played in 1916 which was hosted by Argentina. Uruguay becomes the first time Winners of Copa America Championship. Since then 44 editions of Copa America have been concluded. Let’s see the complete winners list of Copa America from 1916 to 2019.

Copa America Winners

Uruguay is the most successful team in Copa America tournament with maximum no. of winning titles. Uruguay has won 15 Copa America titles. Only 8 national football teams have won the Copa America Championship at least once, which are– Uruguay, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Bolivia, Peru, Paraguay and Colombia.

YearHostwinnersBest player
2019BrazilBrazilDani Alves
2016United StatesChileAlexis Sánchez
2015ChileChileLionel Messi
2011ArgentinaUruguayLuis Suárez
2001ColombiaColombiaAmado Guevara
1995UruguayUruguayEnzo Francescoli
1993EcuadorArgentinaSergio Goycochea
1991ChileArgentinaLeonardo Rodríguez
1989BrazilBrazilRubén Sosa
1987ArgentinaUruguayCarlos Valderrama
1983no fixed hostUruguayEnzo Francescoli
1979no fixed hostParaguayCarlos Caszely
1975no fixed hostPeruTeófilo Cubillas
1967UruguayUruguayPedro Rocha
1963BoliviaBoliviaRamiro Blacut
1959EcuadorUruguayAlcides Silveira
1957PeruArgentinaOmar Sívori
1956UruguayUruguayÓscar Míguez
1955ChileArgentinaEnrique Hormazábal
1953PeruParaguayHeriberto Herrera
1947EcuadorArgentinaJosé Manuel Moreno
1946ArgentinaArgentinaAdolfo Pedernera
1945ChileArgentinaDomingos da Guia
1942UruguayUruguayObdulio Varela
1941ChileArgentinaSergio Livingstone
1939PeruPeruTeodoro Fernández
1937ArgentinaArgentinaVicente de la Mata
1935PeruUruguayJosé Nasazzi
1929ArgentinaArgentinaManuel Ferreira
1927PeruArgentinaManuel Seoane
1926ChileUruguayJosé Leandro Andrade
1925ArgentinaArgentinaManuel Seoane
1924UruguayUruguayPedro Petrone
1923UruguayUruguayJosé Nasazzi
1922BrazilBrazilAgostinho Fortes Filho
1921ArgentinaArgentinaAmérico Tesoriere
1920ChileUruguayJosé Piendibene
1919BrazilBrazilArthur Friedenreich
1917UruguayUruguayHéctor Scarone
1916ArgentinaUruguayIsabelino Gradín

*Last Updates 10 August 2019

This was the complete list of Copa America Champions from 1916 to 2019. There are some frequently asked questions by football fans which are

#1. Who has won the Copa America title most number of times?

Uruguay has the Copa America 15 times. We have given a country-wise winner along with the winning years below in the article.

#2 Which team appeared the most number of times in Copa America final?

Argentina has appeared 28th times in Copa America Final

#3. Has Messi ever won Copa America?

Messi has never won Copa America

#4. Has Argentina ever won Copa America?

Argentina have won 14 Copa America titles

#5. Has Maradona won Copa America?

Maradona has won Copa America twice with Argentina i.e 1991 and 1993.

Copa America F&q

Country Wise Winners

CountryNo. of TitlesYear
Uruguay151916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924,
1926, 1935, 1942, 1956, 1959,
1967, 1983, 1987, 1995, 2011
Argentina141921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937,
1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955,
1957, 1959, 1991, 1993
Brazil81919, 1922, 1949, 1989, 1997,
1999, 2004, 2007
Paraguay21953, 1979
Peru21939, 1975
Chile22015, 2016

This was all about the Copa America Winners and Champions from the year 1916 to 2019. The next edition of Copa America football tournament will start on 12 June 2020. Stay connected for further updates.

If you have any query please ask us below in the comment section.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *