2018 Hero Caribbean Premier League: Things You Need To Know

CPL 2018 Unknown Things

The Best Sports Website in India is back with 2018 Hero Caribbean Premier League: Things You Need To Know a bout CPL 2018. Cricket has been expanding its root to the wider majority of the world. Various domestic are being organized in different parts of the world following the crazy success of the widely famous Indian Premier League.

After Canada’s stint with their own version Global T20 Canada, the Sixth season of Caribbean Premier League has been started and is being watched and played with full enthusiasm.

The sixth edition of the Caribbean Premier League will start on 8 August and the final is scheduled to be played on 15 Septemeber 2018.

The 2017 champions Trinbago Knight Riders will come to this tournament with a mindset to defend their title and become the first team in CPL history to win back-to-back titles.

Although there will be no new team edition, the tournament will be played between the same old 6 teams. Trinbago will get a tough challenge from the likes of Barbados Tridents, Jamaica Tallawahs, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Lucia Stars and St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

The opening game of the Caribbean Premier League will be played between the defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders taking on St. Lucia Stars on Queen’s Park Oval on Wednesday.

This game will be crucial to determining Knight Riders campaign in the upcoming tournament and how far would they go.

A total of 34 games will be played during the course of the Caribbean Premier League 2018, starting with the league stage and then the playoffs and further onwards.

The CPL tournament is played in a round robin styled format and at the end, the top four teams will qualify for the playoffs.

As the name suggests, all the matches will be played across the Caribbean Islands and three games are scheduled to be played at Florida, USA.

Also Read: CPL 2018 complete schedule, fixtures and squads

Also, this edition of the Caribbean Premier League is all set to introduce two new changes.

The first one is slow over rate penalty. If a team fails to bowl their overs in the assigned time, they will be charged penalty for every over beyond the time limit. The penalty will be imposed on their net run rate and could slim the chances of a team reaching the playoffs.

The second change is that a coin toss will decide who will bat or bowl first in case a match ends draw and into a ‘Super Over’.

Some big international names are all set to make an appearance in the Caribbean Premier League 2018 which includes some well known Pakistani players as well.

Meanwhile, suspended Australian ex-captain Steve Smith and David Warner will also be playing for their teams in the CPL 2018. Some big names in the upcoming CPL 2018 are- Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Keiron Pollard, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor and many others will be playing in the tournament.

Confirmed Caribbean Premier League 2018 Squads

Trinbago Knight Riders

Dwayne Bravo, Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Brendon McCullum, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Colin Munro, Shadab Khan, Khary Pierre, Ronsford Beaton, Javon Searles, Kevon Cooper, Nikita Miller, Anderson Phillip, Hamza Tariq, Amir Jangoo, Shannon Gabriel, Fawad Ahmed.

St Lucia Stars

Lendl Simmons, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Rumman Raees, Andre Fletcher, Mitchell McClenaghan, Kesrick Williams, Niroshan Dickwella, Rahkeem Cornwall, Qais Ahmad, Kavem Hodge, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Dasun Shanaka, Christopher Lamont, Obed McCoy, Odean Smith, Jaskaran Malhotra, David Warner.

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Sohail Tanvir, Shoaib Malik, Chadwick Walton, Cameron Delport, Rayad Emrit, Imran Tahir, Jason Mohammed, Luke Ronchi, Veerasammy Permaul, Roshon Primus, Shimron Hetmyer, Devendra Bishoo, Gajanand Singh, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Keemo Paul, Saurabh Netravalkar, Akshaya Persaud, Chris Green.

Must Read: Caribbean Premier League All-Time Champions

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Ben Cutting, Carlos Brathwaite, Mahmudullah, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tom Cooper, Sheldon Cottrell, Brandon King, Devon Thomas, Graeme Cremer, Fabian Allen, Shamarh Brooks, Sandeep Lamichhane, Jeremiah Louis, Alzarri Joseph, Ibrahim Khaleel, Javelle Glen.

Barbados Tridents

Martin Guptill, Shakib Al Hasan, Hashim Amla, Dwayne Smith, Jason Holder(c), Nicholas Pooran, Wahab Riaz, Raymon Reifer, Ashley Nurse, Roston Chase, Shai Hope, Tion Webster, Imran Khan, Shamar Springer, Sunny Sohal, Chemar Holder, Dominic Drakes, Steven Smith, Mohammad Irfan.

Jamaica Tallawahs

Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi, Imad Wasim, David Miller, Ross Taylor, Rovman Powell, Samuel Badree, Kemar Roach, Glenn Phillips, Andre McCarthy, Krishmar Santokie, Johnson Charles, Steven Taylor, Kennar Lewis, Steven Jacobs, Oshane Thomas, Kirstan Kallicharan, Elmore Hutchinson.

This is it from Caribbean Premier League 2018 for now. Keep visiting and following us on Facebook, Instagram, You tube, Twitter for more on CPL 2018. The Best Sports Website in India will bring you the latest updates from the upcoming CPL 2018.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *