Caribbean Premier League 2018: CPL Introduces Two Major Changes

CPL 2018 Schedule and new changes

The Best Sports Website in India is back with the latest news from CPL 2018. Caribbean Premier League season 6 will begin with every cricket fan anticipating A game from all the 6 competing teams. So far, the Caribbean Premier League 2018 schedule, fixtures and squads has been announced.

Ex-Australian captain Steve Smith is all set to play in the Caribbean Premier League 2018 for Barbados Tridents and his teammate David Warner will also play in CPL for St. Lucia Stars.

Watching the success of its predecessor Indian Premier League, the administration of Caribbean Premier League is all set to introduce some major changes in the CPL 2018.

Also Read: Buy Hero Caribbean Premier League 2018 Tickets Online

The most severe ones are the massive penalty for slow over rates and if a match goes to the super over, a coin toss to decide who will bat first. These tow ammendments are effective immediately for the Caribbean Premier League 2018.

The slow over rate factor has effected numerous games since CPL started back in 2013. The best remedy CPL authorities could provide to avoid this is the penalty to the team with slow over rates.

So from now on, if a team fails to bowl the overs in the set time period, they will be implied with net run rate penalty which in turn could be fatal for them as it could affect the team’s chances to qualify for the playoffs.

Let’s take an example for an instance, let’s say if a team remains short by 1 over, 0.05 will be removed from their net run rate. If a team still fall short in additional overs, 0.10 will be charged for each over.

That means all competing should be very careful from now on. From now on, the time alloted to a side to finish their 20 overs is 85 minutes. Although, in case of delays in the match, on-field umpires have the authority to assign additional time.

There is one more major change in playing conditions announced in the Caribbean Premier League 2018 and it is related to the Super Over. From now on, a coin toss will decide which team bats first in the Super Over. In the past, if a game is tied, the team batting second was given the chance to bat first in the Super Over.

Must Read: CPL 2018 Cheerleaders Hot HD Pics

Michael Hall, CPL’s operational director said, “We work hard each year to ensure that playing conditions are making the competition as fair as possible while also keeping the spectators and viewers at home entertained. We feel both of these changes will help with both of these goals.”

There are some other changes that are still underway but the changes discussed above are officially announced.

The CPL 2018 starts on 8th August, 2018 with the defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders taking on St. Lucia Stars at Port of Spain. The CPL 2018 will go for as long as 5 weeks with the final on 16th of September.

This is it from Caribbean Premier League Season 6 from the Best Sports Website in India for now. Keep visiting and following us on Twitter, Facebook, Google Plus and Instagram. We will keep you updated with the latest updates from the upcoming sixth season of the Caribbean Premier League 2018.




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *