If someone gives serious competition to the Indian Premier League in terms of popularity and success then it is the Australia’s very own Big Bash league. Big Bash was there before the IPL stole all the spotlight in the limited overs cricket.

Australia is home to one of the most successful T20 leagues – Big Bash League and it features the top cricketers from around the world.

Although, the Big Bash was there before the IPL’s origin, the new version called the Big Bash League was started in 2011. Perth Scorchers are the most successful teams so far. They have won the tournament a record three times.

Although, Adelaide Strikers are the defending champions. Last season, they defeated Hobart Hurricanes in the finals. The 8th season will start from 19 December and you can check out Big Bash Season 2018 schedule here.

Let’s take a look at the Big Bash League All-time Winners list.

Big Bash League Winners List 2011- 2018

Season 1 Winner ( Sydney Sixers)

The first season of Big Bash was also one of the most exciting ones where Sydney Sixers met Perth Scorchers in the finals.

Batting first the Perth Scorchers added 156 for the loss of 5 wickets. Mitchell Marsh was the highest run scorer (77 in 57) while for Sydney Brett Lee and Mitchell Starc picked 2 wickets each and stopped Perth to a chasable score.

Sydney Sixers chased the target in the 19th over with 7 wickets remaining in hand. Moises Henriques who scored an incredible 77 in 41 balls was awarded the Man of the match and David Hussey became the player of the tournament.

Season 2 Winner (Brisbane Heat)

Once again Perth Scorchers reached to the finals and once again they have to settle up with 2nd place with Brisbane Heat under the coaching of Darren Lehmann won the 2nd season of the BBL.

Batting first, Brisbane heat scored a total of 167 runs at the loss of 5 wickets, Joe Burns was the highest run scorer with 43 runs in 27 balls.

Heats bowling was the superior reason they dominated in this match and won it by a margin of 34 runs. Kemar Roach picked 3 wickets for 18 runs while Alistair McDermott and Ben Cutting picked 2-2 wickets each.

Nathan Hauritz was named the man of the match. He didn’t pick any wicket but he gave 11 runs in 4 overs. While Aaron Finch was named the player of the tournament.

Season 3 Winner (Perth Scorchers)

Well, guess who became the champions of BBL season 3? Perth Scorchers yet again reached the finals but they didn’t spare any expenses this time and brought the title home finally.

Batting first the Scorchers set a giant total of 191 runs at the loss of 4 wickets in 20 overs. Shaun Marsh scored 63 runs in just 43 balls. Mitchell Marsh also contributed 37 runs in just 12 balls.

In reply, Hobart Hurricanes scored only 152 runs at the loss of 7 wickets and lost the match by 39 runs. Their only hope was George Bailey who scored 58 off 32 balls but Pat Cummins sent him back.

Brad Hogg who picked 3 wickets for 17 runs was named the man of the match and Ben Dunk was named the player of the tournament.

Watch Big Bash League 2018-19 Online and Offline

Season 4 Winner (Perth Scorchers)

Perth Scorchers dominated this season of the Big Bash League as well as they reached the 4th back-to-back finals only to win their second Back-to-Back title.

Sydney Sixers playing first scored 147 runs at the loss of 5 wickets and Moises Henriques contributing 77 in 57 balls. In reply, Perth Scorchers chased the score successfully at the last ball of the match. Shaun Marsh was the main man for the Scorchers who contributed 73 in 59 balls.

Although, at the last over Brett Lee made the match even when he picked the wicket in the second ball and then again in the 3rd ball. Shaun Marsh was picked as the Man of the match for his incredible innings and the South African veteran Jacques Kallis was named the Player of the tournament.

Season 5 Winner (Sydney Thunder)

Season 5th of the Big Bash League saw the collision of Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars in the finals. Melbourne was loaded with stars like Kevin Petersen and Shane Warne.

Batting first, the Melbourne Stars made 176 for the loss of 9 wickets with Kevin Petersen being the highest run scorer with 74 runs in just 39 balls. Shane Watson and Jacques Kallis took 2 wickets each for the Sydney Thunders.

In reply, Sydney Thunders successfully chased the score with three balls and three wickets remaining. Usman Khwaja made 70 runs in 40 runs. Marcus Stoinis tried his best to stop Sydney and picked 3 wickets but his efforts weren’t enough.

Usman Khwaja was named Man of the match for his brilliant knock and Chris Lynn was named the player of the tournament.

Season 6 Winner (Perth Scorchers)

Perth Scorchers is the most successful Big Bash League team for a reason. They have reached finals of 5 editions and won three of them. In the 6th season, they defeated Sydney Sixers to grab their 3rd title.

Bowling first, they restricted Sydney to 141/9 in 20 overs. Tim Brenson and Jhye Richardson picked 3 wickets each. In reply, Perth successfully chased the target in the 16th over with 9 wickets remaining. Michael Klinger made 71 off 49 balls and Sam Whiteman 41 in 21.

Jhye Richardson was named Man of the match for his amazing bowling performance and Chris Lynn was once again picked as Player of the tournament for his amazing performances in the home and away games.

Season 7 winner (Adelaide Strikers)

Adelaide Strikers won the 7th season of the Big Bash league. Adelaide met Hobart Hurricanes in the finals where they defeated Hurricanes by 25 runs to win their maiden title.

Adelaide won the toss and elected to bat first. They put an incredible 202/2 in 20 overs. Jake Weatherald was the MVP of the game and he scored the brilliant 115 in just 70 balls. Daniel Christian was the only successful bowler for Hurricanes.

In reply, Hurricanes could only make 177/5. D’Arcy Short was the highest run scorer for them who made 68 in 44 balls whereas Peter Siddle picked 3 wickets for Adelaide.

Jake Weatherald became the man of the match for his incredible innings and D’Arcy Short became the player of the tournament.


The eighth edition of the Big Bash League is starting on 19th December and it will go on for 2 months with the final match on 17th February 2019. Big Bash League 2018-19 squads of all teams are ready for the collision.

We’ll be posting articles related to Big Bash season 7 to keep you updated with the upcoming cricket league. Keep visiting and following us for the latest cricket updates.

Care to Share!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *