BPL 2019-20 Teams, Squads and Players- Bangladesh Premier League

BPL 2019-20 Schedule

Bangladesh Premier League 2019-20 is the seventh edition of a top-level professional t20 cricket tournament in Bangladesh. The BPL 2019-20 is scheduled from 11th December 2019 to 17th January 2020. In this article, we will be discussing the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2019-20 Teams, Squads, Players along with Captains and Coaches List.

2019-20 edition of BPL will be called ‘Bangabandhu BPL’ to pay homage to Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, also fondly known as Bangabandhu (Friend of Bengal), on his 100th birth anniversary in 2020. He was the first President of Bangladesh and then also served as Prime Minister of the country. He was instrumental in Bangladesh Liberation Movement.

In this edition of the BPL 2019-20, A total number of 439 foreign players from 22 nations apply to play in the Bangladesh Premier League 2019-20.

BPL 2019-20 Teams

Follow teams are participating in Bangladesh Premier League 2019-20

1Chattogram ChallengersPaul Nixon
2Cumilla WarriorsOttis Gibson
3Dhaka PlatoonMohammad Salahuddin
4Khulna TigersJames Foster
5Rajshahi RoyalsOwais Shah
6Rangpur RangersMark O’Donnell
7Sylhet ThunderHerschelle Gibbs 

BPL 2019-20 Squads

In this section, you will get the Bangladesh Premier League 2019-20 Players List from each team. Before we get into the details about the players’ list, let’s discuss the team’s squad rules of Bpl 2019-20.

BBL 2019-20 Squads Rules

  • Each team must have max 19 players in the squad (min 9/max 11 domestic and 6 foreign)
  • Each team must have one overseas fast bowler who can bowl 140+ kph
  • Each team must have one leg-spinner
  • Playing 11 will have max four overseas players

Chattogram Challengers Squad

Mahmudullah, Imrul Kayes, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Kesrick Williams, Nurul Hasan, Enamul Haque Jr, Muktar Ali, Pinak Ghosh, Avishka Fernando, Rayad Emrit, Nasum Ahmed, Junaid Siddique, Ryan Burl, Imad Wasim, Lendl Simmons, Jubair Hossain

Cumilla Warriors Squad

Soumya Sarkar, Al-Amin Hossain, Yasir Ali, Sabbir Rahman, Kusal Perera, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sunzamul Islam, Abu Hider, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Sumon Khan, Dawid Malan, Dasun Shanaka, Fardeen Hasan Ony

Dhaka Platoon Squad

Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque Haque, Mahmud, Mahedi Hasan, Thisara Perera, Laurie Evans, Ariful Haque, Mominul Haque, Shuvagata Hom, Mashrafe Mortaza, Wahab Riaz, Asif Ali, Raqibul Hasan, Jaker Ali, Luis Reece, Shahid Afridi.

Rajshahi Royals Squad

Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Abu Jayed, Farhad Reza, Ravi Bopara, Hazratullah Zazai, Taijul Islam, Alok Kapali, Kamrul Islam, Irfan Sukkur, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Irfan, Minhajul Abedin Afridi, Nahidul Islam, Shoaib Malik, Andre Russell

Rangpur Rangers Squad

Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Naim, Arafat Sunny, Jahurul Islam, Mohammad Nabi, Shai Hope, Taskin Ahmed, Zakir Hasan, Fazle Rabbi, Nadif Chowdhury, Lewis Gregory, Cameron Delport, Sanjit Saha

Sylhet Thunders Squad

Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Nazmul Islam, Sohag Gazi, Sherfane Rutherford, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Rony Talukdar, Nayeem Hasan, Delwar Hossain, Monir Hossain, Naveen-ul Haq, Johnson Charles, Ruyel Miah, Jeevan Mendis, Ebadat Hossain, Sheldon Cottrell

*Last Updated 2nd December 2019

BPL 2019-20 Changes of Rules

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB)’s president Nazmul Hasan Papon informed the media about certain changes in rules and regulations for the ongoing season during a press briefing on 11th September 2019. Due to having some conflict of interests between the BPL Governing Council and all other franchises.

  • BCB decided to run this edition of the BPL themselves without taking any franchises.
  • The Board want to mark the occasion of the 100th birth anniversary of Bangabandhu in 2020 and to pay homage to him, the tournament will be named Bangabandhu BPL after him.
  • The teams names will be the same as they were and only the responsibility to manage the team will be on the BCB.
  • The players’ transportation and accommodation will be managed by the board of Bangladesh Cricket.
  • On 13 November 2019, the sponsorship and names of Chittagong, Dhaka, Khulna, Rajshahi and Sylhet teams were confirmed.
  • The Comilla and Rangpur teams will be sponsored by BCB themselves

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *