Asian Games 2018: Indian Badminton Squad Announced, Sourabh Verma and Gayatri Gopichand Are In

Indian Badminton Squad- Asian Games 2018

The Best Sports Website in India is back with the latest news from Asian Games 2018. The Indian Badminton squad for the Asian Games 2018 has been announced by the Badminton Association of India (BAI). The squad has a strength of 20 members. Apart from all the big names, Sourabh Verma and the national coach Pullela Gophichand’s daughter Gayatri Gopichand has made the cut for the Jakarta Asian Games 2018.

The selection process was a little different this time. Out of the total 20 selections, 7 were made through two different tournaments held in Bangalore and Hyderabad. The Commonwealth Games 2018 silver medalist Kedambi Srikanth will be leading the men’s team while Olympic medal winner PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal will lead the women’s team.

Out of the 10 women finalists, only Sindhu and Saina had the guaranteed spot. Four others were selected given credit to their performances over two tournaments. Sai Uttejitha Rao and Ashmita Chaliha both won the titles so they were the automatic choices, other than them Gayatri Gopichand and Aakarshi Kashyap who both were semi-finalists in Hyderabad. Whereas, Rituparna Das, who played Bangalore finals couldn’t make the cut.

Check out: FIFA World Cup 2018 Final Match Prediction Astrology

In women’s doubles, the new pair of Rutaparna Panda and Arathi Sara Sunil who won in the Bangalore tournament and went to the semis in the Hyderabad will join the other women’s double pair of Ashwini Ponnappa and N Sikki Reddy.

Kidambi Srikanth, Prannoy, Sai Praneeth and Sameer Verma were the automatic selections and the only one spot left went to the Bangalore men’s-single winner and Hyderabad’s runner-up Sourabh Verma.

Men’s doubles team will be lead by the Gold Coast winner pair of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty. There will also be a second Men’s double team with the pair of Manu Attri and B Sumeeth Reddy.

Full squad of Indian team for Jakarta Asian Games 2018

Indian Men’s Team

Kidambi Srikanth, HS Prannoy, Manu Attri, B Sai Praneeth, Sameer Verma, Pranaav Jerry Chopra, Sourabh Verma, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Chirag Shetty, B Sumeeth Reddy.

Indian Women’s Team

PV Sindhu, Saina Nehwal, N Sikki Reddy, Rutaparna Panda, Ashwini Ponnappa, Gayatri Gopichand, Sai Uttejitha Rao, Ashmita Chaliha, Aarthi Sara Sunil, Aakarshi Kashyap.

The selection committee of BAI met in Bengaluru on Monday to select the squad. BAI released a statement that the selections were made according to the fitness and consistency of the players in the last 6 months.

BAI president Hemanta Biswa Sharma said, “The selection committee did a wonderful job in putting up the squad together. To keep the selection process fair and transparent, certain criteria were set by the selection panel with key being the points earned by each player from the two qualification domestic tournaments.

“Wherever the scores of two players were same; their head to head performances were considered before finalising the names. I must say all the players who have been selected deserved a chance to represent the country. I would like to congratulate the players and wish them all the best for the games.”

The Jakarta Asian Games are scheduled to start in Indonesia on 18 August and the Badminton event will start on 19 August and will end on 28 August.

Sports Patrika- The Best Sports Website in India will cover all the Asian Games 2018 hot topics including the Badminton events of singles, doubles and mixed doubles. So keep visiting and get all the latest updates.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *